A fun little project for a friend’s pool hall

I had a friend of mine who is a local pool hall owner approach me about building a small trophy shelf. He stated, he wanted just a couple of shelves on a particular wall. To be honest with you he would have been happy with two shelves on brackets. However, I felt that single unit would be the best and he agreed to my design. Although, I did not give all the details of the construction I had in mind. It was enough to get the job.

The materials are red oak with mahogany wedges. The wedges are actually what holds this piece together. I mounted the piece to the wall with a french cleat. The finish is a penetrating stain the owner had on hand, not my favorite color. The wedges I ebonized using old steel wool and vinegar. All of which I topped of with three coats of a satin lacquer rubbed out and waxed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 This is a very easy project and lot fun as well.

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

